JodieBowie : Why New Wave Of Classic Rock Is The BEST Place To Find New MUSIC

There is a fantastic little group on Facebook called New Wave of Classic Rock (NWOCR) and this has been the main place where I have discovered so many fantastic bands that light up my world! Seeing as I’m a promoter working mostly with NWOCR bands, I thought this would be a great opportunity to give this fantastic group a big shout out.

NWOCR is a Facebook group set up by Jeremy Wills, Peter Rattray, Katharina Ils-Kelber, Neil Barrell, Steve Fished and Ian Long and later joined by Gary Spiller and Richard Brindley. The aim of the group is to provide a platform where fans can come together and share photos, videos and recommendations from this great new scene. The timeline for bands to be featured in the group is that they have not released anything before 2010.

NWOCR is such a fantastic community and I am more than glad that I managed to stumble across it.

Back in 2018 I started listening to a lot more ‘local’ music. I was already a promoter but wanted to work with more bands than the ones I knew in my area. One day I was walking into town and my Spotify started churning out these songs by bands I’d never heard of… I headed straight to FB to find out who these bands were and this brought me to The New Wave Of Classic Rock Facebook Group and changed my whole life.

Without NWOCR I wouldn’t have been able to have put on Nozfest.
Nozfest is my very own New Wave of Classic Rock festival which takes place annually at The 1865 in Southampton usually in August. The line-up typically features 9-10 bands and is an all day festival. There will be links listed at the end if you wish to check Nozfest out.

The first few bands I came across where Mason Hill and Massive Wagons, closely followed by Those Damn Crows. These bands absolutely blew my mind! They reminded me so much of bands that I already loved… but they were fresh, exciting and I felt like I was the only one who knew of these bands, which made it even more exciting!

The talent in this group is phenomenal… it is honestly unbeatable. I maintain that I am the luckiest person to have come across the bands I have, and to have met and worked with them – life goal completed.

It is the most supportive community I have seen. No one judges any one, everyone is so passionate about the music they are creating, promoting, sharing, enjoying… I’ve never been to a ‘NWOCR’ gig and felt out of my comfort zone. It’s like one huge family, it really really is. There will always be someone you know in the crowd, and every person there is just living their best life in that moment that the positive energy radiates round the room, it’s incredible!

There will be something for everyone in this group, no matter if you are more into metal than rock. There will definitely be a few bands that tickle your fancy, you may even surprise yourself with what you are drawn to. That is what is so great about discovering new music, you just don’t know what you are going to come across.
If you love anything 70’s, 80’s, 90’s, 00’s, rock, metal, blues, grunge, pop, punk… there will honestly be a band for you.

There’s absolutely no competition either. Every band supports another and sort of stays in their own lane (if that makes sense), no band is out to copy another. Everyone really ‘knows’ each other… there is just zero negativity, and that is so rare these days. It’s all about music and passion, it’s so refreshing to see so much kindness, respect, support and love, especially for such awesome music. NWOCR isn’t technically a genre… but in my opinion it’s one of the best for music.

I cannot wait for live music to return and to get myself down the front at a live show! I have missed all these bands so much. As great as Spotify and YouTube are… I just NEED to see those beautiful talented humans in the flesh and feel that rock ‘n’ roll vibe you can’t get anywhere else. I’m sure many people are feeling exactly the same, including the bands themselves.

This group is relatively small in terms of todays standard of music, however it is also HUGE. NWOCR is everywhere! It’s in Classic Rock magazine, bands are being played on Planet Rock and some bands are even playing festivals like Download! This just proves that people’s love for rock music will never go away, it is one huge community and has fans from all walks of life. There is still a place in the world for those ‘unconventional’ bands, and they are wanted more than ever. It may be a little harder for them to get their music out to the masses, but by god will it be worth it.

You’ll make new friends and meet so many remarkable people. If you are passionate about music, you’re bound to find a friend for life in this group. The NWOCR is like a second family to me. All my favourite bands are there, so many people are enjoying their music too, there are so many gigs and festivals to attend all year round (in normal times) and no matter where you are you’re bound to see familiar faces. It’s FANTASTIC! The best feeling in the world that.

It has been an absolute pleasure to work with so many incredible bands… Massive Wagons, The Treatment, Collateral, Those Damn Crows, Mason Hill, Black Tree Vultures, Wicked Jackals, Stone Broken, Gallows Circus, Kris Barras, Skam, Hollowstar…. ALL THE BANDS!!! You make my heart fill with so much love and happiness you wouldn’t believe.

Lastly I am so so proud of every single band that puts themselves out there, creates fantastic music and is living their dreams. You are always on my mind, and I will always support you no matter how small you remain or how big you get. Thank you for bringing so much light and positivity to my life, and thank you so much for helping me achieve my own dreams along the way. Our journey’s are not over yet!

In the words of Those Damn Crows… “Rock ‘n’ Roll AIN’T DEAD!“.

I hope you have enjoyed this blog, and hopefully go on to discover many many more awesome bands, thanks to the NWOCR group.

Feel free to also check out myself, Nozfest and NWOCR on social media:
INSTAGRAM : Nozfest
FACEBOOK : Nozfest

FACEBOOK : JodieBowie
FACEBOOK GROUP : Nozfest
FACEBOOK GROUP : NWOCR
WEBSITE : www.nozfest.org
YOUTUBE : JodieBowie

Thank you!

Jodie x ❤ x

Leave a comment