Band Chat : An Interview with Marco Mendoza

It’s that time again, time for another “Band Chat” – and this time I have for you someone pretty special……… Mr.Marco Mendoza of The Dead Daisies!!! 

c8abbe3f-c530-4e4f-bd73-05887f45df91

The Dead Daisies are a rock ‘n’ roll super group formed of ex-members of some of the greatest bands of all time, including Motely Crue, Whitesnake and Journey. The band formed in 2013 and have already become a well loved band, playing shows such as Woodstock, Download, Steelhouse, Rock and Blues fest, the Kiss Kruise and many many more! Marco Mendoza himself has worked with many iconic musicians including Ted Nugent, The Black Star Riders and Whitesnake to name but a few. He also has 3 solo albums with many phenomenal tunes in his back catalogue. This dude really is a legend in his own right.

I was lucky enough to have the privilege of putting on a show for the man himself at the Anvil Rock Bar in Bournemouth, back in June; it was a chance of a lifetime I will always be grateful for. I do consider myself to be a fan of his personal solo work as well; he really is a fantastic musician, and knows how to put on a good show. I definitely recommend checking Marco out as a musician in his own right, he really does have some fantastic songs that just can’t be glazed over. If he plays near you, get yourself to a show!! You wont be disappointed!

37996448_2133958703289943_1020704252114239488_n

What is your opinion on the current state of the music industry?
Well its definitely changed in a big way! The big labels along with the big promotion and marketing budgets are gone, but in my opinion its come down to artists earning the loyalty and the following from their fans through live shows and Social Medias .

Do you think “rock is dead?”  
I am constantly hearing that, but I don’t and can’t agree with that since the last 15 years have been my busiest? The perception that Rock is ever going to die is way beyond my comprehension, maybe I’m wrong but in my opinion I think Rock will live forever!!!

What or who inspired you to become a bass player? 
The Beatles ‘Abbey Road’ was the first Album I got for Christmas  from my dad… and that was the beginning!!

You’ve worked with many amazing bands and musicians over the years, but who has been your personal favourite to work with? 
I always like to say that they are all my favorites! How can they not be; in my journey I have spent some time sharing the stage and or the recording studio with some legendary cats, as well as personal time, they have inspired me and I have learned so much from each and everyone of them, yes I have some favorites!!

I also like to say that the cats that I’m touring with and making music with today are my FAVS !!

What do you love most about playing with the Dead Daisies?
In my opinion The Dead Daisies is really what a real band should be like, with everybody participating in the writing and recording process to having input on what happens on stage for the live shows. I call it HUNGER and THIRST to constantly grow as performers and musicians! And I don’t mind telling you it’s HARD work! But I choose to remain teachable, hungry and thirsty. BRING IT ON !

Your career has taken you all over the world – but which country has been your favourite, that you have visited? 
As I’m writing this, I’m on a train from Bratislava to Prague on my Viva La Rock winter tour 2018. So  Slovakia and Czech Rep are my favs right NOW (tomorrow will probably be a different answer)…….  but I do have a special place in my heart for THE MOON!!

You are also known for being a big supporter of sobriety. Do you have any advice for young people who may have fallen off the wagon?
I’m not only a Supporter I’m also an advocate and believe in the sober way of living, having suffered from Heroin, Cocaine addiction early in my career, drugs and alcohol became the enemy and I choose to not drink and take anything that will impede my energy and or my life in any way. The fact is that when you under the influence you are not in control of how it influences your personality your perception of your surroundings not to mention how you beat yourself up physically and if your trying to grow in anyway it impedes that growth. Sep 20 2018, I celebrated 31 years of what I call the beginning of my career and the begging of my life and sobriety…. (sober since 20th Sept 1987)

To the young cats, don’t waste your energy, your money your time in numbing yourself to a point that you go into blackouts and can’t remember anything. Find time to discover thing that gives you joy and happiness without drugs and alcohol. Be smart and………  Just don’t!!

Do you have any tips for bands who are looking to start touring?  
Yes! Practice, practice and do as many shows a possible, that’s when you really go to school and learn what works and what doesn’t. I have been doing this for a long time and I learn something new every time I hit the stage or go into recording. So, remain teachable and you will keep growing and getting better each day and every time you have a chance to do music .

Is there a particular warm-up routine which you have before gigs?
I like to warm up my voice with some hotter and or ginger if there’s some around.. and will pick up the bass for 10 or 15 minutes and do a few scales and or go through a few parts I need to work on. I’m always working on something new with my schedule you know?

You also have your own established solo career. Do you have a favourite song of your own that you love to play live? 
I really enjoy all of them, for some reason right now I’m really diggin’ the title cut and first single from VIVA LA ROCK  that came out in March of 2018, also got in the ballad mode and love singing Still In Me from Live For Tomorrow and Leah from Viva La Rock.

What sort of advice have you picked up on your way, from other musicians?  
I have learned and still learning form my piers, some teach me how not to be and then others inspire me to be the best I can be.

What would be your best piece of advice to share with a young aspiring musician?  
Try as much as you can to make an effort to surround yourself with productive, positive and talented people, people that love music that enjoy spending time working on their craft, and whenever possible challenge yourself to keep growing and learning music that might be advanced for you now, at the same time be patient with yourself and no matter what ENJOY the ride, you will enjoy the rewards if you invest the time!! 

38392071_2145878102098003_329120053947531264_n.png

I hope you all enjoyed that blog… I certainly had a lot of fun asking the questions and reading his responses. Thank you to Marco for taking the time to participate 🙂
Make sure to check out my last Band Chat interview with Marty Venus from The Wicked Jackals.

Don’t forget to go and catch this cat on his Viva La Rock tour, he still has some dates left in Germany and Latvia – and also catch the Dead Daisies when they return for their UK winter tour in November!!!!!

Check me and Mr.Mendoza out on all our social media links below 🙂 :
INSTAGRAM – JodieBowie
INSTAGRAM – Marco Mendoza
FACEBOOK – JodieBowie
FACEBOOK – Marco Mendoza
WEBSITE – Marco Mendoza

Thank you so much for all your support

Seeya soon

Jodie x ❤ x

Mica drawing

Leave a comment