Goodbye 2014!

So, yet another year has passed! I have to say, this one hasn’t been so bad! It’s sad to say goodbye to 2014 – but let’s take a look at what my year has been like… by looking through my diary!

2014

Right, to start off… my New Year’s resolutions were to:
1. Be more positive
2. See my friends more
3. Do or write something creative
4. Lose weight or detox
5. Be more confident in my photography
+ Read 5 books.
The one in bold are the ones I feel I have actually achieved!

January: 
We lost Roger Lloyd-Pack on the 16th January.
So, to kick start January, I ended my 1 and a half year relationship, with someone who really really wasn’t a very nice person – I wouldn’t go as far as to say they were evil, but… they weren’t too far off. I also saw my new favourite Tribute Band in the entire world, Rollin’ Stoned. Ah man, check them out! They are gorgeous and… ah I love them to pieces.
Apparently I was doing really well in all my subjects at school – ha! How things change!
I’ve written in my diary that I had not seen my friend Sophie in over a year, and she came round mine on the 18th for a catch up 🙂 (Sophie, appt you had just had a hip operation, just in case you forgot and I also wrote that your teeth look lovely!)

IMG_0508

February:
We lost Shirley Temple on the 10th February. 
On the 1st Feb I wrote in my diary that “I’m the happiest I have been in a long time!”, which is a miracle – and to be honest, I think I have been very happy this year which is quite an achievement for me!
I saw my friend Carla on the 5th (ah, I had started seeing my friends more!).
I also wrote in my diary that I wanted to look more beautiful – this is still a work in progress haha!
19th of Feb “I booked Suede tickets for the 28th March in Oxford!” – That was my 18th Birthday treat. I also booked tickets for The Great Pretender on the 29th March which is my actually bday!

March:
I got a new phone! I love my phone! Not as much as I love my phone case though. It’s fucking awesome! Got a picture of all my boys on… ah it’s wonderful to gaze at when bored 😉
Ah yes… 6th March… I met Russell bloody Kane! He’s my favourite comedian, I love him to bits. He told me “you look youthful for 17 but that’s good cos in 10 years time you can get hammered and still look great” ha, what a charmer! He called my Mum a ‘Hot Mama’ as well… god I love that dude.
On the 15th I got my ear pierced for the 3rd time! This time I have actually kept them in… so far! Usually I get bored and they heal over, but I’m determined to become an earring wearer, seeing as I hate all other jewelry… I know, I’m not really a conventional girl.
Also in March we lost one person very close to my heart, Miss. L’Wren Scott. She was a beautiful and inspirational woman. Sadly she committed suicide.
Now for my 18th Birthday! – Big thank you to those who I spent my two days of birthday fun with. As I mentioned, on the 28th I saw my 2nd fave band in the entire world, SUEDE in Oxford which was an absolute hectic pleasure! I feel very privileged I guess to of seen a band who means so much to me for my 18th, that doesn’t really happen often. On my actual birthday my parents and I went to Chewton Glen for afternoon tea, which was bloody amazing – if you ever have a spare £100 or so, go there for an afternoon tea with your friends or family… it’s amazing! Have to admit, we did feel a bit like the Trotters from Only Fools and Horses seeing as it’s a more than 5 star hotel! A chauffeur even parked our car! I got a £10 glass of champagne though HA! Then me and two of my best friends Dan and Sophie went to see a Queen tribute band at Mr.Kyps which was super fun. My 18th birthday was super fantastic and super special – thank you to all the people who made it that fantastic and special! I love you all too pieces!

20140306_225622

April:
Sadly we lost Peaches Geldoff on the 7th April.
This month is just full of me crushing over someone haha, so we don’t need to include that now do we!

May:
10th May I finally got to see 20th Century Boy! Woo Woo! Such an idiot for not speaking to Warren seeing as he walked into the same cafe as we were in! I was like “Omg! It’s Marc Bolan!!” and didn’t say anything, what a plonker. It was a fantastic show though, and if it tours again in 2015 in erg everyone to go and see it.
I also took my first English Language exam (damn! The year goes fast doesn’t it!) I wrote “I am 100% sure I failed English” – Spoiler Alert – I DIDN’T!
That’s about it for May…

June:
Me and Mum went to see Maleficent at the Cinema – was a pretty good film!
I wrote in my diary also “don’t let immature people ruin your life, just because they can’t improve theirs”. I need to follow my own advice more. I also told myself that I love myself. For the first time ever, that has remained true – I do, finally, love myself for who I am.
I bought my first vintage dresses at the Bournemouth vintage fair, they really are beautiful, I am just not overly ready to wear them out yet, and I also wanna try and fit in them properly as well.
Me and Mum went up to Woking on the 14th to see 20th Century Boy again. If I love something, I will travel to see it. Llandyll Gove played Marc this time which I was rather upset about, but he did do a great job. On the way home on the train, me and Mum had a fit of the giggles at everything! Was pretty funny. The musical is worth travelling to see, it’s too good to miss. It’s not your average musical, it tells the story of Bolan’s life, and more people need to know that story.
We also went to see The Fault In The Stars – now before I say how brilliant the film is – READ THE BLOODY BOOK! If you saw the film first… shame on you! It’s a fantastic piece of literature – if it does not make you cry like a baby, your heart is made of stone. I cried my eyes out at the film, some serious good acting going on there. Thank you John Green for creating such a beautiful and heart felt story.
Ah-ha I also say my fave tribute band again, Rollin’ Stoned! They came out with just Mick Taylor, and I was quite sad, then they began to play my favourite Stones song (Tumbling Dice) and Brian Jones (Byron) walked out in his fallen angel outfit… my heart melted. We kinda flirted throughout the entire show (if you know me, and you know about Brian Jones you’ll understand why), at the end of the show, he came over and kissed my hand… AH!
Oh gosh, I remember that evening. One night I had one of those realization things, and I realized that my boys don’t statistically have much longer left on this planet and it really upset me. I wrote “my children wont see them live or know them as people. They will only know them from video’s, photo’s and their music”… that’s pretty depressing.
We saw The Fault in Our Stars again and I decided I want to marry Augustus Waters. Who doesn’t!

20140621_215250

July:
We lost Tommy Ramone on July 10th.
Oh great, the first decent thing to put in this blog is finding out that my Geography teacher was a pervert. I wont mention his name online etc because he’s still one of my favourite teachers, despite what he’s supposedly done. Remember whose blog you’re reading here…
At last, something that’s not depressing! My primary school best friend David came and visited me for the day. I have no idea how long it was since we last saw each other? 6 or 7 years perhaps? We went crab fishing at Mudeford which was good fun! Was lovely to see him again. I probably wouldn’t of struggled on through primary school without David. I wrote “perhaps we’ll be friends for life”… you never know, I don’t see a reason why we can’t be!

10559043_10201480598495467_1611713273_n

August:
We sadly lost the comedy legend that is Robin Williams on the 11th August.
I went to see Abba Chique at the New Milton Memorial Centre with Carla (can you believe that just over a month or so later I would end up working there). I also drank an entire bottle of Blue Nun… and you know the rest…. “she’s so cold”.
I had an audition with a band. Yeah, that went well didn’t it.
I also wrote myself a blog for me to read on the 8th August 2015 and also answer. Should be interesting to see how much has changed in a whole year. Oh I don’t want to think about it!
We got our exam results, and I didn’t do too badly if I’m honest. They could of been worse. Me and Lorein went to collect them together, and it literally pissed it down as soon as we left the school gates, so we got soaked. Then we went out to Superdrug and it chucked it down again! Luckily we didn’t get wet that time – then I had to walk home, and I got soaked again! I might also mention, I was wearing a thin top and short skirt and pumps… I looked like a drowned rat.
I also did the Ice Bucket challenge (thanks for nominating me Rein). Not going to lie, it was actually pretty fun!

September:
Another great legend was lost – Joan Rivers died on the 4th Sept.
I had a job interview, which went really well actually – but it didn’t work out, which is cool, otherwise I wouldn’t be doing what I do now.
I got my nails done with the Pink Floyd “Dark Side Of The Moon” album 😉
I also ended up volunteering to work down at the New Milton Memorial Centre, which is actually pretty awesome, even though it can be incredibly stressful, but I’m not going to lie, I love it! I do most of the PR and stuff, which is actually quite hard, but hey, I said I wanted to be a journalist didn’t I. I’m also organising my first event in February, which IS going to be brilliant, but I had to admit, I’ve never been so stressed out haha, but it’s going to be worth it in the end. I also get to ‘look after’ the bands who are playing at the venue, so I get to hang out with them and stuff which is so much fun. Some real good bands are coming in 2015 as well so I can’t wait to meet and greet them.

October:
We said goodbye to Lyndsey De Paul (1st Oct) and Alvin Stardust (23rd Oct).
Haha… oh my god. I wrote in my diary that I made friends with Jack! Ha, hi Jack!
I think I was surprised that I actually made a friend! I am rather pleased though, because let’s be honest, Year 14 would be crap if I had no one to talk to. I’ve made a few new  friends this year, which is good considering I am actually really shy but also incredibly mouthy.
I started my Gig Guides! (I did something creative – don’t worry they will be continuing in 2015, I just needed a little break).
Apparently Nasty Nick returned to Eastenders… because that totally needs to be written in my diary now doesn’t it… what a weirdo I am!

November:
I had my first proper event to do, which was to look after Perfect Alibi, who are a Pink Floyd tribute band. Oh yeah, they made ME a cup of tea haha, I was literally so nervous but they were really sweet and really lovely people so it wasn’t so bad in the end. Pink Floyd fans should definitely check them out.
I started working on my first event which I’m organising. It happened very quickly. I literally made a comment in a meeting, and now it’s actually happening!
Oh bloody hell, I had another career rethink. I have actually applied for University though, so we’ll see how that goes. My tutor has been nagging me for months to do it, but I’m just like “meh, I don’t even think I want to go”, but there’s no harm in applying I guess.
I booked tickets for McBusted! I’m a huge McFly fan, so I can’t wait to see them next year. I know, my music tastes are rather different. Oh appt Mick Jagger also had a throat infection in this month – as if I am going to need to know this information in later life… although you never know!
I started taking care of my skin in November, like I actually finally have a skin care routine and everything. It is actually working – I actually want to look half alright for a change.
I started buying dresses… that trend soon ended! What was I thinking! I’m back on the leggins. Oh, and they are black!
AAAHHH I booked tickets for The Who, Paul Weller and Johnny Marr at Hyde Park! It’s like the ultimate Mod fest! Can’t wait to see them all. I fucking love Paul Weller. I’ve always been a Who fan and Johnny Marr ain’t bad man. “Fuck you, I’m see The Who!”.
Me and Dad went to see Get on Up (James Brown film directed by Mick Jagger), it’s a brilliant film, was quite funny in parts as well… “I’m James Brown”.
Oh and I accidentally said to a girl in buddy reading… oh my god this is so embarrassing. Me and Jack were ‘helping’ this girl out, and we have to fill in a form and I asked what book she was reading and Jack said “Biff and Chip”, I said “ah yeah I remember those books”, Jack made a comment about who he loved reading those books when he was 12, which I stupidly replied “12!!!” in a really shocked manner, to get stared at by Jack cos the girl in buddy reading was probably 11 year olds. Yeah, well done Jodes.

535948_604423396330097_7664374919588626626_n

December:
Oh gosh, so many wonderful musicians died this month. It sucks for The Stones who lost Bobby Keys (2nd Dec), Ian McLagan (3rd Dec) – and we also recently lost Joe Cocker (22nd Dec).
However, I formed a heavy duty crush on Jimmy Bullard… oh can I marry him now please?!?! Also found my first ‘shipping’ thing, or whatever… #JOGGY! Well done Carl Fogerty for winning I’m a Celeb.
I met TOOREX! Who are all wonderful guys. I got my picture with Bobby T and Steevi, which I am very happy about. It was a pleasure to work with these guys, and if you’ve not seen them, please do go to one of their gigs, they are amazing.
I went jogging for the first time! Woo… wonder how long the fitness regime will be kept up.
Oh no! 14th Dec, I had my heart broken by no other than my love… Ronnie Wood. He performed on XFactor with… One Direction! Stop it stop it, it hurts man! Ronnie babe, I love you but… come on! 1D! Wow.
Of course I can’t miss out the fact they we just had Christmas! Would just like to say a big thank you to those wonderful friends of mine who bought me a present. For me, I get excited for Christmas, to only be disappointed, I think I’ve reached that age now where nothing new and exciting is going to happen unless I had a boyfriend or a family of my own… but let’s face it… that’s at least another 20 years off! However, I did get some pretty cool presents, even though I knew what most of them were anyway, but I was very impressed with my own gift giving skills.
On the 27th Dec, I planned to see Dirty DC at Mr.Kyps with some close friends… which didn’t work out quite as planned but I still saw Dirty DC but with Mica and her Dad, which was bloody good fun! I’ve not seen Mica for well over a year, so was good to catch up. If you’ve not seen Dirty DC (whether you are a ACDC fan or not) go and see them! They are fucking awesome! They are the best tribute band I have ever seen… and I’ve seen many! Looking forward to see them in 2015!

I guess I should mention my New Years Resolutions. This year (2015) I intend to do these things:
1. Read more books
2. Be more positive
3. Have a certain set career path
+ a personal resolution: GET IN SHAPE!

^^ I doubt any of that will actually happen! but we shall see!

For me personally, I think 2014 has been a pretty good year – I’m gonna miss it!

Check out my GoodBye 2013 post here to see how things have changed: http://jodiebowie.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/my-2013/

I will start doing Gig Guides every Wednesday and Let’s Talks every Sunday in the New Year. I’ve needed to take a break for a bit, to start doing my important Sixth Form stuff, plan events at work and to also gain new ideas!

 

1 thought on “Goodbye 2014!

  1. Pingback: Let’s Talk – Favourite Book of 2014! | jodiebowie2

Leave a comment