The Five Books I’ve Read This Year:

I set myself a personal New Year’s resolution – I mean, I had many, but I really wanted to complete this one in particular – and it was to read 5 books this year.
That may sound a little bit of an odd New Years Resolution, but the thing is… I can’t be bothered to read. I have so many books I want to read, and I just can’t make my mind pay attention and actually sit down and read them. The books I have read in the past took a minimum of 6 months to finish! So I wanted to set myself a challenge. Seeing as it’s only July and I’ve completed my challenge (whoop whoop) I thought I’d share my thoughts and opinions (and also ratings) on the books I have read.

20140711_160118

1.The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky
“Charlie’s not the biggest geek in high school, but he’s by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent, standing on the threshold of his life whilst watching everyone else live theirs. As Charlie tries to navigate his way through uncharted territory – the world of first dates and mix tapes, family drama’s and new friends – he realises that he can’t stay on the sidelines forever. There comes a time when you have to see what life looks life from the dance floor”

The reason I decided I wanted to read this book was because I had seen the film, starring Emma Watson, so I wanted to read the book so that I could understand the film a bit more. This book if definitely one of those books that older teenagers read and feel as though they can relate to what Charlie is saying. Without ruining the ending for those who haven’t yet read the book… it does get quite sad at the end, and it’s quite… It’s hard to explain, it’s a tough subject that is addressed, so this book might not be for everyone.
I give this book 3/5.
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/stephen+chbosky/the+perks+of+being+a+wallflower+-+teen+edition/9355472/

2.The Fault In Our Stars by John Green
“Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten”

I have actually already written a blog post about this book, which I will leave a link to if you want a more detailed review, or whatever.
Basically, a film of this book was being made, and so many people were getting addicted to this book, I thought I’d give it a try. Again, a tough subject is address, this one being cancer in young people which really is heart breaking, but honestly it’s such a good book, the story to it is unbelievable and I fell in love with Augustus Waters instantly. READ THIS BOOK!
I give this book 5/5.
http://jodiebowie.wordpress.com/2014/06/24/the-fault-in-our-stars/
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/john+green/the+fault+in+our+stars/9378186/

3.Holes by Louis Sachar
“Stanley Yelnats’ family has a history of bad luck, so he isn’t too surprised when a miscarriage of justice sends him to a boys’ juvenile detention centre. At Camp Green Lake the boys must dig a hole, five feet deep, five feet across, in the dried up lake. The Warden claims the labour is character building, but it is a lie. Stanley must dig up the truth”

This, is one of my favourite books ever. I wont say it’s my favourite just yet, as I have so many more to read… but this is up there at the top. We had to study this book in year 7 I do believe, I was on holiday when my class watched the film, so I missed out on the ending, so borrowed the book from the school library. I just absolutely loved it!
This year, I decided to buy it and read it all over again. It’s sill absolutely brilliant. I love this book so much because it makes you think. There are so many twists and things you have to work out in this story, it just keeps you interested all the time. It’s almost psychological, but more for teenagers, and with less murders. The film is also brilliant, so check it out. I suggest to read the book first though because the book is THAT good.
I gave this book 4/5.
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/louis+sachar/holes/4098115/

4.Forever by Judy Blume
“Katherine and Michael meet at a party. The attraction is instant and pretty soon they’re going out – and making out. Katherine is a virgin, but as their relationship grows deeper and more intense they both want more. This is love, and love is forever – right? But love isn’t simple – and when Katherine’s parents make them spend the summer apart, forever begins to feel like an awfully long time…”

Right, what can I say about this book. I came across this book in the school library and opened to a random page, and thought “woah! This book is pretty graphic for a kids book”, when one of my friends said that they read it when they were in their teenage years, and it was mostly how they found out about… that part of life. So I thought why not give it a bash, I’m 18 so I’m hardly going to be embarrassed.
This book is so god damn true! It’s so relate-able and that really IS what happens when you are a teenager or whatever and experiencing first loves, and first break ups. Every teen should read this book just to educate themselves if anything! If you need advice or whatever and you’re too embarrassed, read this book. It’ll tell you in a very straight forward and blunt way. There’s vaginal discharge, body parts, teen pregnancy, suicide attempts… all sorts of things going on.
I give this book 3/5.
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/judy+blume/forever/5433248/

5.Hey Jo! by Jo Wood
“Ronnie was getting stuck into his solo. Seeing him on stage still gave me goose-bumps. Whnever there had been hard times, whether is was his alcoholism, drugs or other women, it was in moments like this that all the bad stuff was forgotten. I was married to a creative genius, there was no doubt about it. But as the roar of the audience drowned the last notes on the song, I was suddenly struck by the intense conviction that this was the last time I would be standing there, watching the Stones. It was almost lik a premonition.”

If you know me well enough, I don’t need to tell you why I wanted to read this book. I Lovveeee the Stones, with all my heart and bones! I bought this book in may, and I hadn’t yet read an autobiography this year, so I thought “hey, I’ll try Jo’s!”. Now now now, where do we start with this book. It’s brilliant. I finished it in a week. It’s like my bible! Or at least my bible on Ronnie Wood, child birth and drugs. Yes, this book is very rock ‘n’ roll. The story of Jo and Ronnie is such a sweet one, you know like a fairy tale almost. The part where they split up was really gut wrenching, I truly felt for Jo, it must of been horrific for your husband to leave you for an 18 year old bimbo. It’s such an honest book, she’s not hiding anything, or covering up or being bitter to Ronnie, it’s just her telling the reader what honestly has happened in her life, from the start to 2013. I have to say, I’ve fallen in love with Jo. She’s so sweet and bubbly! He was a fool to leave her… but men are men right! Keith Richards is absloutely hilarious in this book as well… have to say, he’s probably the most normal member besides Charlie! Adore Keith even more now.
If you are a Stones fan, or love reading fan girling things… pick this one up. It’s a good read.
I give this book a 5/5 for sure!
http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/jo+wood/hey+jo/8754653/

Leave a comment